Wahala

Author(s): Nikki May

Fiction

Fabulous debut novel- a multi-cultural 'Sex and the City' with a killer edge- for fans of EXPECTATION, QUEENIE and MY SISTER THE SERIAL KILLER


'This has bestseller written all over it. Fast-paced, funny, shocking, unputdownable. I loved it' PAULA HAWKINS, author of The Girl on the Train


'I just raced through Wahala. Nikki May writes so well about friendship, food, fashion and the many ways modern women can stumble in their careers and personal lives' CLARE CHAMBERS, author of Small Pleasures


Ronke, Simi and Boo are inseparable mixed-race friends living in London. They have the gift of two cultures, Nigerian and English, though not all of them choose to see it that way.Everyday racism has never held them back, but now in their thirties, they question their future. Ronke wants a husband (he must be Nigerian); Boo enjoys (correction- endures) stay-at-home motherhood; while Simi, full of fashion career dreams, rolls her eyes as her boss refers to her urban vibe yet again.


When Isobel, a lethally glamorous friend from their past arrives in town, she is determined to fix their futures for them. Cracks in their friendship begin to appear, and it is soon obvious Isobel is not sorting but wrecking. When she is driven to a terrible act, the women are forced to reckon with a crime in their past that may just have repeated itself.A darkly comic and bitingly subversive take on love, race and family, Wahala will have you laughing, crying and gasping in horror.


Boldly political about class, colorism and clothes, here is a truly inclusive tale that will speak to anyone who has ever cherished friendship, in all its forms.

$32.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
6

Add to Cart

Click & Collect


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9780857527790
  • : Transworld Publishers Limited
  • : Transworld Publishers Limited
  • : 0.51
  • : December 2021
  • : 3 Centimeters X 15.4 Centimeters X 23.3 Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Nikki May
  • : Paperback
  • : 2201
  • : 384